Welcome!!!

19 Feb

Welcome to my Blog! For my very first post on the internet ever, I would like to introduce myself and explain how I came the subject of my blog. I’m currently a college student attending Texas State University and living in San Marcos, Texas. From living in San Marcos for a mere half of a year, I have found how much I adore my hometown. Prior to college I had been living in Austin practically my whole life. My family moved here in 1997 when I was 4. Before moving here I had always lived in the northeast and had never been to Texas in my whole life. I had no idea what to expect. I suspected that Austin consisted of flat land, dirt roads, tumble weed, cowboys and I was more than excited to ride a horse to school.

view of the Green Belt from my backyard

Upon arrival to this glorious city I was pleasantly surprised with green rolling hills, paved roads, and a modestly sized city with more character than I had ever imagined. Despite my disappointment of riding a bus rather than my very own noble steed to school, I fell in love with Austin. I fell in love with everything about it; the hot weather, the abundance of natural water resources to cool off in, the green hills, the people, the music, the charm, the spirit, the tex-mex, the mixtures of cultures and the way that everyone here loves it just as much as I do. Since I’ve been in Austin, its secret charm has been leaked to the rest of the world and as a result, the population has been growing exponentially. In the 15 years that I’ve lived here, I’ve watched the population grow and it is evident that it will continue to grow. Naturally, the city has been growing as well; rush hour traffic has gotten worse, crowds have grown, and the skyline has shot to new heights. Downtown Austin’s few tall office buildings and hotels have been joined by towering skyscrapers filled with condos. Our poor Frost Tower was looked at in awe as being the tallest building when it was first built in 2004, and now it’s looked down upon by the  condos of  the lofty Austonian.

the view from the top of the Austonian

I often worry about whether Austin’s personality will withstand the increasing population and I tend become very protective, just like a mother bear is with her cubs, when the thought arises. If someone questions this great city I become offensive and will defend it until my death. The moral of this blog is to show those who don’t know, those who have forgotten, and those who are to come, what Austin is all about. I plan to take you on a tour though the heart and soul of Austin, revealing the little things that make this city so lovable.

P.S. If you click on the widget pictures they’ll bring you to related information that corresponds to the picture.

5 Responses to “Welcome!!!”

  1. Jen Esterline February 24, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Great, Lizzie! What a fun idea!!

  2. Erica Ekwurzel February 24, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Lizzie – I love the authenticity of your blog and could truly feel and breathe the vibrancy we know as Austin. Your mother and I shared a laugh as I described your blog as “Ausdorable” a melding of Austin, awesome, simply adorable as I love, love the star singer in the YouTube video! Great blog, lady!

  3. AndyUhl February 25, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    Wow, I honestly couldn’t agree with more Lizzy! Austin is an absolutely amazing city to live in, let alone grow up in with the plethora of activities it constantly has to offer night after night. One of the best things about Austin in my opinion would have to be the enormous amount of live music that literally goes on every single night. Its truly something to experience first hand. I look forward to reading more about one of the greatest city of mankind!

  4. Molly Needham February 25, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    Lizzy,
    I am glad that you are so passionate about your city. Being new to the areas I am excited to hear all of the little things that are interesting about Austin. Your blog is also really cute! I especially love all of the pictures.

    Molly Needham

  5. sm1683 February 26, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    I agree with everything that you said about Austin, it’s the best city in the world! I also love all the pictures and the appearance of your blog. And I completely agree with what Andy said, I love that you can find live music anywhere, any time in Austin.

Leave a Reply

