The Arts

30 Mar

Not only does the natural landscape of rolling hills and pristine lakes make Austin BEAUTIFUL, but the quirky art makes it strangely wonderful. Austin is filled to the brim with different mediums of art; paintings, murals, statues, etc. Just about everything in Austin is done with a certain odd artistic style. I am a really detailed oriented person, I notice things that a

Mural in West Campus

lot of people probably wouldn’t and Austin is the perfect place to find things that are there for you to be observant of little details. Some of the most common murals Austin is known for are the “Greetings from Austin” postcard murals places in various locations around the city. Another is the “Hi, How are you?” frog/ alien looking creature, if you aren’t from Austin you probably think this mural is very odd. Which I do admit it is really weird but it has become one of Austin’s trademarks. Austinites love this strange mural

Hi, How are you?

just like they love their strange (yet awesome) city. As I mentioned in one of my past blogs music is more than a huge thing in Austin, it keeps the city going round(economically and spiritually). To embody the cities dedication to music into a visual art, Gibson Guitars has contributed to a project called Guitar Town. This project is the explanation for giant guitars placed all over Austin. Each of these 10 foot tall Gibson Guitars is beautifully and creatively decorated and painted by local artists. Every guitar is decorated differently and each depict favorite Austin spots and themes. Eventually these guitars were auctioned off to benefit local charities such as every person’s favorite place to go when they were a child in Austin, the awesome Children’s Museum, but their existence will forever be remembered.If you explore downtown Austin or west campus I will urge you to look at EVERYTHING, from the buildings to guiding rails, a lot these things have minute or large things that were added to them just to make them more appealing. For example the Frost Tower, you have to admit the top of that building is pretty freaking cool. The capitol building might look very similar to our nations capitol in Washington, D.C. but every Austinite knows ours is better because it’s taller(everything’s bigger in Texas) and recently I noticed it’s pinkish, which is kind of cool. Our new City Hall

City Hall

building is pretty crazy looking, and I’m told that it is supposed to look like an armadillo from a certain angle but I have yet to see it, but it is a nice building to look at. Something else to notice is while driving down Cesar Chavez are the guiding rails, strangely enough they are the coolest looking railings that I have ever seen, with colored glass and metal flowers and leaves incorporated into them. I have never seen this anywhere else. Austin is amazing in the way that it turn the most conventional things into works of art, forcing everyone to see the beauty in everything.

7 Responses to “The Arts”

  1. AndyUhl April 3, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    Yes! One of my favorite things about Austin is walking down the drag and constantly seeing murals or paintings on the sides of buildings that really make Austin amazing. Good work Lizzy.

  2. Jacqueline Mizeur April 3, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    YES YES YES! I LOVE THE FROG MURAL! One of my favorites!

  3. th1369 April 9, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    I also admire the art and uniqueness of Austin, and it’s cool being able to learn a little more about it! I’ve also heard about City Hall looking like an armadillo but I’ve never actually took the time to try and see it.

  4. sm1683 April 10, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    This was really interesting! I, too, am in love with the art and quirkiness spread throughout Austin. Especially the murals on the drag and South Congress. I’ve never heard the city hall is supposed to look like an armadillo, and I don’t really see it. But I love the building! I also don’t think I’ve ever noticed the guiding rails, but next time I go home to Austin, I’ll make sure to look at them when driving down Cesar Chavez.

  5. codybankz April 12, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    With a photography major I’m often being forced to show my creativity in my drawings/paintings and I often go downtown or somewhere near it to look and get inspiration when I can’t find any. I always come up with some masterpiece, especially with all the legal and illegal paintings etched all over town.

  6. jackiep17 May 4, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    I’m not from this area of Texas at all but one thing I became familiar with quickly is the city of Austin and in all of its weirdness it really is a place of beauty!

  7. jfisher06 May 11, 2011 at 1:21 am #

    Austin has beautiful art.

Leave a Reply

