The Lovely Outdoors

13 Apr

One of my favorite things to do in Austin is to be outside. And if you’re from Austin you know that people are outside year round, whether it is freezing or 110 degrees out. Austin has tons of things to do outdoors. There are plenty of

The Greenbelt

lakes, creeks, and pools to take a dip in during the summer, which is very much appreciated when there is no other way to escape the heat other then being in water. I’m lucky enough that my parents have their own pool in their backyard and while growing up my parents would take my sisters and I to Lake Travis every weekend. As I’ve grown older I have learned that the abundance of natural swimming is awesome. Even though pools are nice and clean, I personally prefer a natural source of water. Austin has three main lakes; Lake Austin, Lake Travis, and Town Lake (renamed Lady Bird Lake but I think Town Lake is more fitting). Lake

Lake Austin and the 360 Bridge

Austin and Travis  are the larger of the two (Lake Travis is the largest) there’s nothing better during the summer than taking the boat out on the lake from sun rise to sun set, that is if you have the boat and money to do so. Motorized boats aren’t permitted on Lady Bird Lake, therefore it is more for canoeing, kayaking, and stand up paddle boarding. But for those who would like to enjoy Austin’s natural water there are other less money draining options. Barton Springs is a favorite spot for many Austinites, admission is $3 and the pool is naturally kept at a cool 68 degrees year round thanks to the natural spring water from the lovely Edwards Aquifer. Another lake option that is my favorite place to camp is Pace Bend Park off of 71. It’s a little ways out of Austin, about 45ish minutes but its definitely worth the drive. There are campsites that are

Pace Bend Park

private and right on the lake and when the lake level is high enough there are various sizes of cliffs to jump off. Now if you don’t want to spend any money there is always the Greenbelt. Barton Springs pool is just at the end of the Greenbelt, above the pool is a creek that goes on for miles withdifferent little spots to post up for the day with a cooler and friends and take a swim. My favorite part of the Greenbelt is that I can take my dog with me, so if you’re looking for a good place to go hang out in the sun with your dog, buddies and a cooler I’d highly suggest the Greenbelt. I love that Austin has so many places to go to cool off during the summer and my favorite part is they’re kind of like a local secret but we’re never opposed of new comers as long as they’re ready to have a good time.

The Oasis on Lake Travis

 

4 Responses to “The Lovely Outdoors”

  1. jacmizeur April 17, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    I’ve eaten dinner at the oasis on lake travis and its one of the prettiest places to eat in austin, the wait was REALLY long though, but well worth it…

  2. AndyUhl April 17, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    Couldn’t have said it better. Austin seriously has it all the best part about summer was cruizin down Lake Travis with the wind blowing like crazy and the hot sun warming you up. I can’t wait!

  3. staciedavid April 21, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    I totally agree with swimming in natural waters. I love swimming in the summer. Lake Travis is so fun to go too!

  4. piercetokerud May 11, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    I am glad you talked about this because the outdoors in Austin are by far the best out of anywhere in Texas especially when its warm and you can enjoy the water.

Leave a Reply

